Reception planning

Dear Parents and Carers 

Welcome to Reception Class. Below are some of the things we will be covering in Reception Class before the Christmas break. We hope you find this useful in understanding some of the things your child is learning at school and how you might be able to support them at home. 

 The Foundation Stage Curriculum is split into 7 areas. Three of them are now known as the ‘prime areas’ 

* Personal, Social and Emotional Development

* Communication and Language 

* Physical Development 

These work together and are fundamental in supporting the other areas. 

The other four are referred to as the ‘specific areas’  

* Literacy

* Mathematics

* Understanding the World

*Expressive Arts and Design  

These areas include essential skills and knowledge for your child to participate successfully in society. 

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to speak to your child’s class teacher